Patient Participation Group

Quote / Testimonial:

It is with deepest regret that we inform you that Marion Burfield, past chair of our Patient Participation Group, friend and colleague passed away on 13th September 2021

Marion joined the group in early 2011, becoming Vice Chair in August 2011 , and then Chair in August 2014 until August 2021. A member of our group has described Marion as ‘such a good chair, but not only that she was an example to us all’

She was also the chairperson of the Chippenham Breath Easy Group and she represented the group at the palace of Westminster in 2015 and she gave a presentation on their behalf.

With our sincerest condolences to Marion’s friends and family and our appreciation for her commitment and support of our Patient Participation Group and surgery.

Malmesbury Primary Care Centre Patient Participation Group

A PPG is a partnership between the Surgery and the patients enabling good communication between them to improve the quality of the service that is provided.

Our PPG is comprised of patient volunteers who are essentially “Area Representatives” for their Village or locality. They are supported by the Doctors and Practice Manager  who meet with them bi monthly and discuss healthcare issues, both national and local, large and small so that the members can then relay points back to their community through local networks.

Purpose of the PPG

To enable the patients to have a voice in the provision of health-care in their area

To give both staff and patients the chance to discuss health topics of interest.

Patients can give constructive feedback, requests and suggestions.


The Group meets alternative months in the Group Room at the Primary Care Centre.

Members Details

ChairMarion BurfieldCowbridge
Dep ChairCec SmithDauntsey
SecretaryMargaret PerrinCrudwell
MemberMiriam NichollsOaksey
MemberJennifer WalkerCharlton
MemberElizabeth CheshireHullavington
MemberDi VincentSt Pauls Without
MemberAllastair KnightLea
MemberShayne SmithHankerton
MemberDenise RichardsMalmesbury
MemberRoger LeeRodbourne
MemberFrank SodenOaksey
MemberCarl HallMalmesbury